Fishing a Fugu

About 100 species of fish of the plectognathi order of the blowfish family, inhabiting the Pacific and Indian Oceans, as well as some rivers and the Mediterranean Sea, have the name of “Fugu” (other names of the family are Four-toothed puffers, Tetraodons, Pufferfish, Swellfish). It is difficult not to recognize a Fugu: its bright color, absence of scale, grayish-blue stripes on the top, a white belly with a few spikes, feeling like sandpaper, nostrils, and a small mouth with almost human teeth – broad bony plates. The Fugu uses them to separate shells from stones, and on occasion it can “open” a crab, or break a fish hook by biting or can even (the largest of the plectognathi) deprive a person of a finger – a case reported in Japan. Swellfish are extremely aggressive, including aggressiveness towards each other.

Fugu can swim tail forward, but generally move slowly. If you scare a Fugu, it would instantly swell, taking a spherical shape. And woe to the shark, which does not understand the threat – a swellfish is fatally poisonous. Its muscles and guts contain Tetrodotoxin – the poison of neuroparalytic action, which is 50 times more dangerous than Cyanide. A lethal dose for humans is only 1 milligram of tetrodotoxin, one fish contains the amount of poison, that can kill 30-40 people. Moreover, there is still no effective antidote for Fugu poison.

Only to the best chefs in Japan, specially trained and those having a special license, can be trusted to cook Fugu. Upon receipt of the license a chef takes an exam – he must not only prepare fugu in different ways, but eat what he has prepared. By the way, it is believed that in case a client got poisoned with fugu, the chef should do a hara-kiri.

Cutting the balloon-fish requires meticulous accuracy and skill. Rapid strokes separate fins and head and open the fish’s belly. Then poisonous inside is gently removed. Fish fillet is cut into thin, even paper-thin slices and carefully washed under the running water.

Dishes from Fugu are very diverse. Flesh, skin, liver, flippers, and roes are used when cooking.
Fans say that the taste of Fugu is more like that of chicken than of fish, and only a distant hint of flavor indicates that it is a sea product. Flesh does not have any fibers; it has the consistency similar to that of gelatin. And one of poetically-minded foodies remarked that the taste of Fugu fish resembles Japanese painting – it is something subtle and elusive, and besides as smooth as Japanese silk…
Fugu fish is eaten only in Japan. You need to be a devoted gourmand and a self-possessed person to be able to eat dishes cooked from Fugu fish, whose guts contain tetrodotoxin with appetite.

Despite the obvious risk Yacht Club Israel provides an opportunity of fishing a Fugu. But we do not cook this fish.
You can see more photos  of this extreme type of  Fishing in Israel in our  gallery  below.

Contact us for price offers and orders


Useful information
  • Fishing in Israel

    Fish in Israel True fisherman is always in search. He is always attracted by exotic seas and countries, new ways of catching fish in Israel and outlandish kinds of fish… Israel has everything necessary for such kind of fans of sea fishing: unique exuberant nature, the Mediterranean Sea, with its great diversity of flora and [...]

  • This funny TSAR FISH …

    Perhaps no other fish can boast of so much attention, and such a great reputation. In ancient Rome, Horace and Cicero wrote about it, the famous impressionist Edouard Manet made its pictures, in Russia it was served at the tzar’s table; fishermen in the East under the threat of death penalty were forbidden to leave [...]

  • Diving in Israel

    The term «diving» means “submerging under water or plunging into water”. But perhaps it is better to say that the unique hobby of diving, is more like a drug addiction. It is an addiction to which it is difficult to find a cure. You will only need one taste! Take a trial dive into the [...]

  • Fishing in Israel – Hunting .. a Tuna!

    Yes, it is real hunting, and not just  ‘fishing.’ As those who stand out to sea to get this mighty azure blue fish, should know that the enemy is strong and clever, and it should not be underestimated. So, blue, or Bluefin tuna.  International Game Fish Association (IGFA) classifies it as the strongest trophy fish [...]

  • Join

    Name

    E-mail*

    Phone

    Message

Gallery

Рыбалка на Фугу

Именем “фугу” называют около 100 видов рыб отряда сростночелюстных из семейства скалозубов, обитающих в Тихом и Индийском океанах, а также в некоторых реках и в Средиземном море (другие названия семейства – четырехзубые, тетраодоны, иглобрюхи, рыбы-собаки). Фугу трудно не узнать: яркая окраска, отсутствие чешуи, серовато-синие полосы сверху, белое брюхо с небольшими шипами, напоминающими на ощупь наждак, ноздри, небольшой рот с почти человеческими зубами – широкими костными пластинами. Ими фугу отрывает от камней ракушки, а при случае может “вскрыть” краба, перекусить рыболовный крючок или даже (самые крупные из скалозубов) лишить человека пальца – такой случай зафиксирован в Японии. Рыбы-собаки крайне агрессивны, в том числе друг к другу.

Фугу могут плавать хвостом вперед, но вообще двигаются довольно медленно. Если фугу испугать, она мгновенно раздуется, приняв шарообразную форму. И горе акуле, которая не поймет угрозы, – рыба-собака смертельно ядовита. В ее мышцах и внутренностях содержится тетродотоксин – яд нервно-паралитического действия, который в 50 раз опаснее цианистого калия. Смертельная доза для человека составляет всего 1 миллиграмм тетродотоксина; в одной рыбке яда хватит, чтобы убить 30-40 человек. Причем эффективного противоядия от отравления фугу до сих пор не существует.

Приготовление фугу доверяется только самым лучшим поварам, прошедшим специальную подготовку и имеющим особую лицензию. При получении лицензии повар проходит экзамен – он не только должен приготовить фугу разными способами, и но и сам съесть все приготовленное. Кстати, считается, что повар, приготовивший фугу, в случае отравления клиента должен сделать себе харакири.

Разделка шар-рыбы требует филигранной точности и сноровки. Быстрыми ударами отделяются плавники, голова и вскрывается брюхо рыбы. Затем осторожно удаляются ядовитые внутренности. Рыбное филе нарезают тонкими, не толще бумажного листа кусочками и тщательно промывают под проточной водой.

Блюда из фугу весьма разнообразны. В приготовлении используются мясо, кожа, печень, плавники, икра и молоки рыбы.
Любители говорят, что на вкус фугу – скорее цыпленок, чем рыба, и лишь отдаленный вкусовой намек указывает на то, что это продукт моря. У мяса совсем не ощущается волокон, по консистенции оно похоже на желатин. А один из поэтически настроенных гурманов заметил, что вкус фугу напоминает японскую живопись – нечто этакое утонченное и ускользающее, и в придачу гладкое, как японский шелк…
Рыбу фугу едят только в Японии. Надо быть убежденным гурманом и хладнокровным человеком, чтобы с аппетитом вкушать блюда из рыбы, внутренности которой содержат тетродотоксин.

Не смотря на очевидный риск Яхт клуб Израиль  предоставляет возможность  рыбалки на фугу.
Но приготовление этой рыбы наша организация на себя не берет.
На фотографиях ниже представлены отрывки этого экстремального вида рыбалки в Израиле.

Связаться с нами для получения расценок

Полезная информация
  • Рыбалка в Израиле

    Настоящий рыбак всегда находится в поиске. Его постоянно манят экзотические  моря и страны, новые способы ловли и  диковинные рыбы…    В Израиле для таких страстных любителей  морской рыбалки есть всё: неповторимая роскошная природа, Средиземное море с его великим разнообразием животного и растительного мира, и пресноводное озеро Кинерет, которые гарантируют  впечатляющий улов и незабываемые впечатления. Морская рыбалка [...]

  • ЭТА ЗАБАВНАЯ ЦАРСКАЯ РЫБКА…

    Пожалуй, ни одна рыба не может похвастаться таким вниманием к своей особе и такой великолепной репутацией. В Древнем Риме о ней писали Гораций и Цицерон; ее рисовал знаменитый импрессионист Эдуард Мане; в России ее подавали к царскому столу; на Востоке рыбакам под угрозой смертной казни запрещалось оставлять себе даже небольшую часть от улова этой рыбки [...]

  • Дайвинг в Израиле

    Термин Дайвинг (Diving) в переводе с английского языка обозначает “погружение под воду либо ныряние”. Но наиболее подходящим определением для дайвинга является неповторимое увлечение, нередко сравниваемое с наркотиком. И это действительно правда, так как излечиться от дайвинга нереально, а “заболеть” – очень просто. Для этого Вам будет достаточно всего лишь одной порции – отправиться на дайвинг  [...]

  • Рыбалка в Израиле – ИДЕТ ОХОТА… НА ТУНЦА!

    Да-да, именно охота, а вовсе не идиллическая «рыбалка в Израиле на тунца». Потому что те, кто идет в море с целью заполучить этого могучего лазурно-серебристого красавца, должны знать: противник силен и умен, и недооценивать его не стоит. Итак, синий, или синеперый тунец. Международная ассоциация спортивного рыболовства IGFA классифицирует его как сильнейшую трофейную рыбу в морской [...]

  • Вступить в клуб

    Имя

    E-mail*

    Телефон

    Сообщение

Галерея