Fishing a Mahi-Mahi (dolphin fish)

Mahi-Mahi (a dolphin-fish) – is one of the most beautiful fish in the sea and the ocean. Its body has quite an unusual shape. If you look at it on the side, in general it resembles a medium-sized Tuna (about 1 meter long). The exception is the head, which looks like a stump. Thus, the “face line” (so to say) of Mahi-Mahi fish is vertical. The line of the belly and the back line at the head of the fish form nearly parallel lines – and, in combination with a vertical “face” make a rectangle. In the lower right corner of the rectangle there are eyes and a mouth that give the impression of a ‘forehead’ over his head. Perhaps because of this forehead the fish has another name – a dolphin-fish. If you look at it not from the side, but frontally, you can discover, that it is completely flat, and any resemblance to the tuna disappears immediately as ‘in the section’ tuna is nearly round. This description being added up by glittering of color from yellow to iridescent bluish-green color of the mahi-mahi, makes quite an unusual portrait. This fish cannot be confused with any other. As soon as its head appears on the surface of the water, everyone  says: “Mahi-Mahi.”

There are other names for this fish: for example, in the Caribbean, particularly in Jamaica, Miami and Israel, it is called, as already mentioned,  a dolphin-fish. Although, of course, it has nothing to do with the dolphin, as the dolphin is a mammal, and Mahi-Mahi – is a fish. In Thailand and Germany it is called “golden mackerel,” although, again, it has nothing to do with mackerel, as mackerel – is an ordinary sombrous. The Spanish call it “golden dorado,” but mahi-mahi and dorado fish have nothing in common either. Dorado is smaller and is like an ordinary crucian carp. On Malta it is called “Lampuka” and it is even depicted in Maltese 10-cent coins. In Japan it is a “shira”. But in Greece and Russia mahi-mahi is called a “Coryphaena”.

Mahi Mahi feeds on flying fish, and so they catch it using trolling method at a high speed, with a spinneret or a live bait. It is a matter of habit and taste which kind of bait to use. Each of them has its advantages and disadvantages. Live bait makes a lot of trouble. You need to attach it better, but it ‘glitters’ in the water much worse. So if it is the coryphaena that is your goal, we recommend using a spinneret. Here, each angler has his/her own recipes. Some anglers prefer a synthetic bait – it is a good imitation of a live flying fish, others – a wooden spoon, which has the plumage and coloring similar to those of the flying fish. But very often when trying to catch a big marlin anglers prefer natural bait, which often attracts coryphaena.

Fishing coryphaena is very exciting. The fish is strong enough to struggle with the angler and playing with it will require effort and patience, but perhaps this is what we all expect from fishing and what makes the trophy so desirable for us.

Coryphaena is tasty and can be prepared in many different ways – it can be steamed, cooked in a soup, grilled, or just fried in a pan.

Yacht Club Israel is happy to provide you with an opportunity of fishing this predatory fish and we hope you will enjoy struggling with it.

Fishing in Israel

Contact us for price offers and orders

.

Useful information
  • Fishing in Israel

    Fish in Israel True fisherman is always in search. He is always attracted by exotic seas and countries, new ways of catching fish in Israel and outlandish kinds of fish… Israel has everything necessary for such kind of fans of sea fishing: unique exuberant nature, the Mediterranean Sea, with its great diversity of flora and [...]

  • This funny TSAR FISH …

    Perhaps no other fish can boast of so much attention, and such a great reputation. In ancient Rome, Horace and Cicero wrote about it, the famous impressionist Edouard Manet made its pictures, in Russia it was served at the tzar’s table; fishermen in the East under the threat of death penalty were forbidden to leave [...]

  • Diving in Israel

    The term «diving» means “submerging under water or plunging into water”. But perhaps it is better to say that the unique hobby of diving, is more like a drug addiction. It is an addiction to which it is difficult to find a cure. You will only need one taste! Take a trial dive into the [...]

  • Fishing in Israel – Hunting .. a Tuna!

    Yes, it is real hunting, and not just  ‘fishing.’ As those who stand out to sea to get this mighty azure blue fish, should know that the enemy is strong and clever, and it should not be underestimated. So, blue, or Bluefin tuna.  International Game Fish Association (IGFA) classifies it as the strongest trophy fish [...]

  • Join

    Name

    E-mail*

    Phone

    Message

Gallery

Рыбалка на махи-махи (дельфинообразная рыба)

Махи-махи (dolphin-fish) — это одна из красивейших рыб, обитающих в  море и океане. Ее тело имеет довольно необычную форму. Если взглянуть на него сбоку, то оно в общих чертах напомнит вам тунца средней величины (порядка 1 метра). Исключеннием является голова, которая похожа на обрубок. Таким образом «линия лица» (если так можно выразиться) у махи-махи — вертикальная. Линия брюха и линия спины в головной части рыбы образуют фактически параллельные прямые — а, в сочетании с вертикальным «лицом», выходит прямоугольник. В нижнем углу данного прямоугольника располагаются глаза и рот, благодаря чему возникает ощущение этакого “лба” над головой. Может быть, из-за этого лба она и носит еще одно название — dolphin-fish (рыба-дельфин).Если же смотреть на нее не сбоку, а прямо, то выяснится, что она абсолютно плоская, и всякое сходство с тунцом исчезает, потому что «в сечении» тунец практически круглый.Добавим к этому описанию переливающуюся от желтого к сине-зеленому окрасу махи-махи и получится  довольно оригинальный портрет. Эту рыбу не спутаешь ни с какой другой. Стоит только появиться на поверхности воды ее голове , как все сразу говорят: “махи-махи».

Есть и другие названия этой рыбы: например, в Карибском бассейне, в частности на Ямайке , Майами и Израиле, она, как уже упоминалось, называется dolphin-fish. Хотя, естественно, ничего общего с дельфином не имеет, ведь дельфин это млекопитающее, а махи-махи  - рыба. В Таиланде и Германии ее называют «золотой макрелью», хотя, опять же, ничего общего с макрелью у этой рыбы нет, поскольку макрель — это обыкновенная скумбрия. Испанцы - «золотой дорадо», но и с рыбкой дорадо у махи-махи нет сходства. Дорадо меньше и похожа на банального карася. На Мальте - «лампука» и она даже изображена на мальтийских 10-центовых монетах. В Японии – «шира». А вот в Греции и вслед за ней в России махи-махи называют «корифена».

Махи-махи питается летучей рыбой, и по этому её  ловят методом Тролинга, на большой скорости, используя искусственные или живые приманки. Тут уже дело привычки и вкуса какую наживку использовать. И у той и у другой есть свои плюсы и минусы. С “живцом” много возни. Прикрепить ее надо получше, играет на воде похуже. Так что если вашей целью стала именно корифена, мы советуем использовать искусственную приманку. Тут тоже у каждого свои рецепты. Кто-то отдаст предпочтение синтетической приманке — она хорошо имитирует живую летучую рыбу; кто-то — деревянной блесне, которая имеет оперение и окраску, сходную с внешними признаками летучей рыбы. Но часто в попытках поймать крупного марлина, рыбаки предпочитают натуральную приманку, на которую очень часто попадается корифена.

Рыбалка на корифену очень интересна, рыба достаточна сильна для борьбы с рыбаком и вываживание ее потребует затрат сил и терпения, но наверное мы все ждем именно этого от рыбалки и тем желаннее для нас трофей.

Корифена вкусная и готовить ее можно любым способом — на пару, в супе, на гриле или просто поджарить на сковороде.

Яхт клуб Израиль с радостью предоставит вам возможность рыбалки на эту хищную рыбу, в надежде что схватка с ней доставит вам массу удовольствия.

Рыбалка в Израиле


Связаться с нами для получения расценок

.

Полезная информация
  • Рыбалка в Израиле

    Настоящий рыбак всегда находится в поиске. Его постоянно манят экзотические  моря и страны, новые способы ловли и  диковинные рыбы…    В Израиле для таких страстных любителей  морской рыбалки есть всё: неповторимая роскошная природа, Средиземное море с его великим разнообразием животного и растительного мира, и пресноводное озеро Кинерет, которые гарантируют  впечатляющий улов и незабываемые впечатления. Морская рыбалка [...]

  • ЭТА ЗАБАВНАЯ ЦАРСКАЯ РЫБКА…

    Пожалуй, ни одна рыба не может похвастаться таким вниманием к своей особе и такой великолепной репутацией. В Древнем Риме о ней писали Гораций и Цицерон; ее рисовал знаменитый импрессионист Эдуард Мане; в России ее подавали к царскому столу; на Востоке рыбакам под угрозой смертной казни запрещалось оставлять себе даже небольшую часть от улова этой рыбки [...]

  • Дайвинг в Израиле

    Термин Дайвинг (Diving) в переводе с английского языка обозначает “погружение под воду либо ныряние”. Но наиболее подходящим определением для дайвинга является неповторимое увлечение, нередко сравниваемое с наркотиком. И это действительно правда, так как излечиться от дайвинга нереально, а “заболеть” – очень просто. Для этого Вам будет достаточно всего лишь одной порции – отправиться на дайвинг  [...]

  • Рыбалка в Израиле – ИДЕТ ОХОТА… НА ТУНЦА!

    Да-да, именно охота, а вовсе не идиллическая «рыбалка в Израиле на тунца». Потому что те, кто идет в море с целью заполучить этого могучего лазурно-серебристого красавца, должны знать: противник силен и умен, и недооценивать его не стоит. Итак, синий, или синеперый тунец. Международная ассоциация спортивного рыболовства IGFA классифицирует его как сильнейшую трофейную рыбу в морской [...]

  • Вступить в клуб

    Имя

    E-mail*

    Телефон

    Сообщение

Галерея