Hunt for “Inkpot”

Marine gifts of the Mediterranean coast of Israel include not only a lot of fish, but also representatives of the invertebrates family – squids and octopuses. We are going to discuss ‘eight-legged’ octopus, ‘octopus vulgaris’ or an ‘inkpot’.

Octopuses can reach 3 meters in length and 25 kg of body weight. 15-kilo octopuses are quite rare, but 10-kilo ones are common. On each of the 8-10 tentacles an octopus has up to 100 or more suckers, depending on the age of the animal. One sucker can pull a hundred grams of weight, which means that, theoretically, the animal is able to hold one hundred kilos. (The clever Japanese make use of this ability of an octopus: it is known that at the shores of the Country of the rising sun valuable porcelain was taken out from a sunken ship with the help of octopuses.)

Octopus’ eyesight exceeds even that of an eagle – it is not only keen, but also infrared, which makes it possible for the octopus to see in complete darkness. The famous naturalist Gerald Darrell was amazed by ‘huge, meaningful eyes of a clam with human expression’.

They move very fast, with the help of a special part of the body – a kind of a ‘jet engine’ by firing water at a speed of 50-70 km per hour. But octopuses are able to rest, too: they can spend hours lying on the surface … and even ‘walk’ on the shore – they have a special body cavity with a supply of water for this purpose.

Special features of some parts of the skin of an octopus can serve as a kind of ‘spotlights’ that shine, making the way at night or at depth easier for the animal. In addition, the octopus, like a chameleon, is able to change color – for the purpose of mimicry or depending on ‘the mood’.

And why, in fact, is it called an ‘inkpot’? The fact that the body of an octopus has a special ‘defensive’ organ – a pear-shaped excrescence of the rectum, called the ink bag. It is divided into two parts, one of which is ‘operational’ and the second one is a ‘warehouse’, that stores ink ‘ammunition’, which contains substances similar to narcotic; they cause brain freeze of a chaser, so that it drops the intention to attack. At the moment of danger, the octopus shoots out the liquid at the enemy, the ink is spread out into the water as a smokescreen, and this helps the octopus to escape from the aggressor safely under its guise.

The habitat of the octopus are rocky coasts, caves and crevices in the rocks. Its place of ‘residence’ is at the bottom, among rocks and seaweed. The clam is the most active at night.

Although the octopus is a predator, which means it eats everything that moves, it is still not dangerous for a human. But for the ‘king of nature’ octopus is an important target species: nothing will prevent a human from eating something delicious. And not only delicious: the meat of an octopus contains a loading dose of iodine, vitamins B1 and B2, vital amino acids, protein and phosphorus, besides, its meat is low in calories, which makes it an essential component of dietary dishes.

Ways of catching the octopus are few. Thus, the Japanese are constantly surprising the world with their know-hows by acting in a simple, but clever way: they throw a narrow-necked jar with a string into the sea and … wait. The next day, the vessel with a trusting eight-legged ‘guest’ is just pulled to the surface.

A less humane way – is catching octopus with the help of thin ropes (or a strong fishing line), with iron hooks at the end, where a bait – anything white or bright – is tied to (in Israel fishermen use an olive branch as a bait, because its silvery leaves look like small fishes); and sometimes rotten fish or meat serves as a bait. With the help of a spool this device is descended deep to the bottom. After the octopus swallows the bait and gets caught in the hooks, fishing line is carefully pulled up, and a lift net is placed under the octopus.

Fans of spearfishing use an iron hook, or a gaff. Having found a refuge of an octopus at the bottom, they push there an arm with a hook, pull it abruptly towards themselves – and the prey is in hand.

Have you ever tried eating automobile tires? .. A person experiences such kind of gustatory sensations when eating a boiled octopus. To bring it to an edible state, you need to work hard – soak, pickle, beat it against a stone, and even … whirl in a washing machine (there is such a technique, too); all of these preparatory stages take at least a day and night. The simplest way is to clean it, wash and put in a freezer.

How to cook an octopus dish? It depends on culinary traditions of the chef. The Koreans eat an octopus alive, the Japanese use it for sushi, or cook in a brine. The Greeks love octopus meat dried or fried in a grill, and then add it into a salad with garlic and olive oil. The Spanish stew it in red wine, or serve it boiled with red pepper and potatoes.

Octopus can meet not only gastronomic needs of a human, but his thirst for excitement and winning the fight as well. Practical Americans as usual, have done business making use of this age-old passion. In the late 40s of the last century there appeared a new kind of wrestling – a man versus an octopus: a diver got to grips with the clam in shallow water, and had to take it out of the water. The peak of the popularity of this kind of wrestling came to the 60s: then in the coastal areas of the U.S. they even held annual championships, which were broadcast on television.

Finally, remembering Ostap Bender’s precept – a compulsory legend. In ancient Greece, in Syracuse there lived a gourmet Philoxenus. Once he ate up a whole octopus, leaving only its head, after which he got sick from overeating. When the doctor, who came, announced that he had to live only a few hours, Philoxenus ordered to bring the remaining head of the octopus and after he ate it up with appetite, said he was not leaving behind anything on the earth, worth feeling sorry for any more… And died.

Useful information
  • Fishing in Israel

    Fish in Israel True fisherman is always in search. He is always attracted by exotic seas and countries, new ways of catching fish in Israel and outlandish kinds of fish… Israel has everything necessary for such kind of fans of sea fishing: unique exuberant nature, the Mediterranean Sea, with its great diversity of flora and [...]

  • This funny TSAR FISH …

    Perhaps no other fish can boast of so much attention, and such a great reputation. In ancient Rome, Horace and Cicero wrote about it, the famous impressionist Edouard Manet made its pictures, in Russia it was served at the tzar’s table; fishermen in the East under the threat of death penalty were forbidden to leave [...]

  • Diving in Israel

    The term «diving» means “submerging under water or plunging into water”. But perhaps it is better to say that the unique hobby of diving, is more like a drug addiction. It is an addiction to which it is difficult to find a cure. You will only need one taste! Take a trial dive into the [...]

  • Fishing in Israel – Hunting .. a Tuna!

    Yes, it is real hunting, and not just  ‘fishing.’ As those who stand out to sea to get this mighty azure blue fish, should know that the enemy is strong and clever, and it should not be underestimated. So, blue, or Bluefin tuna.  International Game Fish Association (IGFA) classifies it as the strongest trophy fish [...]

  • Join

    Name

    E-mail*

    Phone

    Message

Gallery

Охота на «чернильницу»

Морские дары средиземноморского побережья Израиля включают не только множество рыб, но и представителей семейства беспозвоночных – кальмаров и осьминогов. Об осьминоге – «восьмилапнике», «спруте обыкновенном», или «чернильнице» – и пойдет речь.

Осьминоги могут достигать 3 метров в длину и 25 килограмм веса; 15-килограммовые – не большая редкость, а 10-килограммовые встречаются часто. На каждом из 8-10 щупальцев осьминога насчитывается до 100 и больше присосок, в зависимости от возраста животного. Одна присоска может притягивать сто грамм веса, а это значит, что теоретически животное в состоянии удержать сто килограмм.  (Эту способность используют хитроумные японцы: известно, как у берегов Страны восходящего солнца с помощью осьминогов доставали с затонувшего корабля ценный фарфор.)

Зрение осьминога превосходит даже орлиное – оно не только острое, но и инфракрасное, что дает возможность видеть в полной темноте. Знаменитого натуралиста Дж. Даррелла поразили «огромные, осмысленные глаза моллюска с человеческим выражением».

Передвигаются они очень быстро, при помощи особого органа – своеобразного «реактивного двигателя», выстреливая воду, со скоростью 50-70 км в час. Но осьминоги умеют и отдыхать: они могут часами лежать на поверхности и даже… «гулять» на берегу, для чего в специальной полости тела носят запас воды.

К специфическим особенностям некоторых участков кожи осьминога можно отнести своеобразные «прожекторы», которые светятся, облегчая животному путь ночью или на глубине.  Кроме того, осьминог, как хамелеон, способен менять окраску – в целях мимикрии или в зависимости «от  настроения».

А почему, собственно, его называют «чернильницей»?  Дело в том, что в теле осьминога существует специальный «оборонительный» орган – груше­видный вырост прямой кишки, который называется чер­нильным мешком. Он разделен­ на две части, одна из которых – «оперативная», а вторая – «склад», где хранятся чернильные «боеприпасы», в которых содержатся вещества сродни наркотическим; от них преслeдователь впадает в ступор и уже не помышляет о нападении.  В минуту опасности осьминог выстреливает этой жидкостью во врага;  чернила же расплываются в воде, как дымовая завеса,  и под ее прикрытием осьминог благополучно спасается от агрессора.

Среда обитания осьминога – скалистое побережье, пещеры и расселины в скалах. Место его «прописки» на дне, среди камней и водорослей. Наибольшую активность моллюск проявляет ночью.

Хотя осьминог и хищник, то есть употребляет в пищу всё, что движется, для человека он не опасен. А вот для «царя природы» осьминог  является  важным объектом промысла: человек ни перед чем не остановится, чтобы съесть что-нибудь вкусное. И не просто вкусное: в мясе осьминога содержится ударная доза йода, витамины В1 и В2, жизненно необходимые аминокислоты, протеин и  фосфор; кроме того, мясо это низкокалорийное, что делает его непременным компонентом диетических блюд.

Способы ловли осьминога немногочисленны. Так, японцы, постоянно удивляющие весь мир своими ноу-хау, поступают «простенько и со вкусом»: забрасывают в море  узкогорлый горшок на веревочке и… ждут. На следующий день сосуд с доверчивым  восьмилапым «гостем» просто вытягивают на поверхность.

Менее гуманный способ – ловля на тонкие канаты (или прочную леску) с железными крючками на конце, к которым в качестве приманки привязывают что-нибудь белое или блестящее (в Израиле рыбаки для приманки берут оливковую ветку, потому что ее серебристые листья похожи на мелких рыбешек); иногда привадой служит тухлая рыба или мясо. С помощью катушки это приспособление  опускается глубоко на дно. Когда осьминог заглатывает приманку и запутывается в крючках, леску осторожно тянут вверх, а под осьминога подставляют сачок.

Любители подводной охоты используют железный крюк или багор. Найдя на дне убежище осьминога, они просовывают туда руку с багром, резко дергают его на себя, – и добыча в руках.

Вы когда-нибудь ели автомобильные покрышки?.. Примерно те же вкусовые ощущения испытывает человек от поглощения вареного осьминога. Чтобы довести его до съедобного состояния, нужно изрядно потрудиться – отмочить, промариновать, отбить об камень, даже… прокрутить в стиральной машине (есть и такой способ); на все эти приготовительные стадии уходит не менее суток.  Проще же всего почистить, вымыть и положить в морозилку.

Как приготовить блюдо из осьминога? Это зависит от кулинарных традиций самого повара. Корейцы едят осьминога живым, японцы используют его для суши или варят в рассоле. Греки любят сушеную осьминожину или жарят в гриле, а потом добавляют в салат с чесноком и оливковым маслом. Испанцы тушат в красном вине или подают вареным, с красным перцем и картофелем.

Осьминог удовлетворяет не только гастрономические потребности человека, но и его жажду азарта борьбы и победы. На этой извечной страсти, как обычно, сделали бизнес практичные американцы. В конце 40-х годов прошлого века возник новый  вид борьбы – человека с осьминогом: ныряльщик, вступивший в схватку с моллюском на небольшой глубине, должен вытащить его из воды. Пик популярности этого единоборства пришелся на  60-е годы: тогда в прибрежных районах США даже проводились ежегодные чемпионаты, которые транслировались по телевидению.

И в заключение, помня заветы Остапа Бендера, – обязательная легенда. В Древней Греции в Сиракузах жил некий гурман Филоксен. Однажды он съел целого осьминога, оставив только голову, после чего заболел от обжорства. Когда пришедший врач объявил, что жить ему осталось считанные часы, Филоксен приказал принести оставшуюся осьминожью голову и, со смаком съев ее, сказал, что теперь он не оставил на земле ничего, о чем стоило бы пожалеть… И умер.

Полезная информация
  • Рыбалка в Израиле

    Настоящий рыбак всегда находится в поиске. Его постоянно манят экзотические  моря и страны, новые способы ловли и  диковинные рыбы…    В Израиле для таких страстных любителей  морской рыбалки есть всё: неповторимая роскошная природа, Средиземное море с его великим разнообразием животного и растительного мира, и пресноводное озеро Кинерет, которые гарантируют  впечатляющий улов и незабываемые впечатления. Морская рыбалка [...]

  • ЭТА ЗАБАВНАЯ ЦАРСКАЯ РЫБКА…

    Пожалуй, ни одна рыба не может похвастаться таким вниманием к своей особе и такой великолепной репутацией. В Древнем Риме о ней писали Гораций и Цицерон; ее рисовал знаменитый импрессионист Эдуард Мане; в России ее подавали к царскому столу; на Востоке рыбакам под угрозой смертной казни запрещалось оставлять себе даже небольшую часть от улова этой рыбки [...]

  • Дайвинг в Израиле

    Термин Дайвинг (Diving) в переводе с английского языка обозначает “погружение под воду либо ныряние”. Но наиболее подходящим определением для дайвинга является неповторимое увлечение, нередко сравниваемое с наркотиком. И это действительно правда, так как излечиться от дайвинга нереально, а “заболеть” – очень просто. Для этого Вам будет достаточно всего лишь одной порции – отправиться на дайвинг  [...]

  • Рыбалка в Израиле – ИДЕТ ОХОТА… НА ТУНЦА!

    Да-да, именно охота, а вовсе не идиллическая «рыбалка в Израиле на тунца». Потому что те, кто идет в море с целью заполучить этого могучего лазурно-серебристого красавца, должны знать: противник силен и умен, и недооценивать его не стоит. Итак, синий, или синеперый тунец. Международная ассоциация спортивного рыболовства IGFA классифицирует его как сильнейшую трофейную рыбу в морской [...]

  • Вступить в клуб

    Имя

    E-mail*

    Телефон

    Сообщение

Галерея